Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Owls Named to 2018 All-MASCAC Teams

Composite image of the Owls four all conference players: Jenn Rennich, Bella Eduardo, Casey Rotti, Natalia Falcone

WESTFIELD, Mass.  –     Westfield State University women's soccer had four players named to the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference all-conference teams that were announced on Wednesday.

Freshman forward Jenn Rennich (Bedford, Mass.), junior midfielder Bella Eduardo (Chicopee/Springfield, Mass.) and senior defender Casey Rotti (Wachussett/Rutland, Mass.) were named to the first team, while senior goalkeeper Natalia Falcone (Sutton, Mass.) was named to the second team.

Rennich led the Owls in scoring with eight goals and 10 assists for 26 points, and was second among all scorers in conference play with 15 points on five goals and five assists.

Eduardo, who was the conference player of the year in 2017 and the rookie of the year in 2016, makes her third straight appearance on the first team.  Eduardo moved from forward to midfield to meet the team's needs due to injuries this season. Her scoring totals took a dip from a year ago, as she finished with a goal and three assists, but her play in the midfield was a key factor in the Owls third second straight conference title.

Rotti anchored an Owls back four that allowed a league low four goals against in conference play.    She also scored four goals of her own as an offensive factor coming forward when needed.

Falcone earned All-Conference honors for the first time.  She finished the season with a 0.76 goals against average and a .881 save percentage.   Falcone was even more impressive in conference play, yielding just three goals in seven games, for a 0.47 goals against average, and a .906 save percentage.  Both of those figures led the MASCAC.   Falcone has compiled an outstanding 0.93 goals against average over her four year career, including three straight years under a goal-per-game.

Westfield has a 10-6-3 overall record under 14th year head coach Todd Ditmar after defeating Salem State, 3-0, in the conference championship game on Sunday.  It was the second straight conference tournament title for the Owls and the seventh since 2008.

Worcester State's Ali Maldonado was named the league's player of the year in the vote of the league's coaches, while Bridgewater's Delaney Langton was named the loop's rookie of the year.  Bears coach Yasmina Carvalho was named the league's coach of the year.

Conference Press Release and Full Team Listing